A Good Forza Summer Day?

rocket69

This morning I ran into someone I know in Forza.  Wait, that came out wrong.  I was IN Forza and I ran into someone I know from real life – IN Forza.  Yeah, but I did not actually run into them really – I mean we did not trade paint is what I mean.

I was pretty surprised to see their Gamertag in an online race – well no not really surprised at seeing their G-Tag – I see their G-Tag all the time when I am racing because they are a mate o’mine – what I mean is I was surprised to see THEIR G-Tag during an online MP race because you see they were actually driving their car (rather than their Avatar driving their car).

You know the written word for casual communication is fraught with peril.  And easily misunderstood too.  A lot depends on how the reader reads the thing…

Today was a Good Forza Summer Day

It being Thursday, one of the things I do before starting work for the day is log into my Forza accounts to check messages and be sure that I have DL’d the week’s Hub Candy.  Always a good thing to do on a Thursday.

The window in my office is open – the one without the AC unit I mean – and a warm Summer breeze promising French wines and cheese wafted in and caressed my face as I swing through my garage in FH2 (I already did my checks for FM5 and FM6 and I even made a rapid pass through Forza F&F because I never remember to check that last.  Still…

In my garages there are a lot of “favorite” cars – and I am sure that among my faves are cars that would make your fave list.  But I bet there are some that you never even heard of let alone have driven IRL?

Right now I am warming up my 1966 Ford Lotus Cortina – I love that car – Love it!  After I take a quick “Love You Miss You” ride in the Cortina I will fire up the straight-six in my fire engine red 1956 Ford F-100 ute and take her for a spin, feeling a lot like I imagine how my grandfather felt when he was behind the wheel of the fire engine red 1956 Ford F-100 Ute he owns.

Of course his F-100 is sun-faded with dings, dents, and scratches of the sort you are bound to get when your ute is in service to your dairy farm.  My F-100 is shiny and new-looking and still has all four hub caps.  Just saying.

It’s not just that it is this time of year.  That time of year where the tourist season has sort of officially started but the Tourists are not quite saturating my world so that we don’t have to wait until the middle of the night or very early in the AM in order to go to the grocers.

Oh, that day is coming soon, I know that.  But for now – for the next week or so anyway – the streets are not blocked by tourists who think nothing of simply stopping in the middle of the street to check their map or GPS display because why?

Because they are on vaycay so why not?!

Sure they would never do that in their own home town because people got ta get to work and stuff – but on Cape Cod that would be okay, right?  No one has to get to work here, right?

Other People’s Stuff

Have you ever heard George Carlin do that routine?  Yes?  No?  Well I embedded it below just in case you know, you want to take a moment to listen to it?

I am totally convinced that there are parallels between that routine and how tourists treat us Cape Codders – and the Cape itself.  Really!

My Stuff in my garages is important Stuff.  There is Stuff, then there is Stuff I like, and finally there is Stuff I Love.  I won’t bore you with the previous two but that last one? Yeah there is NOTHING better than showing you the Stuff I Love to make it feel like maybe it is stuff you might love too!

Here’s a very brief list of the Stuff I Love that I keep in my garages – from JDM to Off-roaders to my Street Machines and Track Beauties:

  • 1956 Ford F-100 (FH2 & FM6 / D-285)
  • 1961 Jaguar E-type S1 (FM6 / D-304)
  • 1966 Ford Lotus Cortina (FH2 & FM6 / D-339)
  • 1968 Dodge Dart HEMI Super Stock (FM6 / D-392)
  • 1969 Nissan Fairlady Z 432 (FM6 / E-270)
  • 1970 Volkswagen #1107 Desert Dingo Racing Stock Bug (FH2 / D-372)
  • 1970 Chevrolet Corvette ZR-1 (FM6 / D-374)
  • 1971 Plymouth GTX 426 HEMI (FH2 / C-579)
  • 1973 Holden HQ Monaro GTS 350 (FM6 / D-309)
  • 1977 Holden Torana A9X (FM6 / E-298)
  • 1980 Subaru BRAT DL Ute (FH2 / D-189)
  • 1988 Holden VL Commodore Group A SV (FM6 / D-371)
  • 1995 Chevrolet Corvette ZR-1 (FM6 / B-560)
  • 1998 Toyota Supra Fast & Furious Edition (FH2 / S1-900)
  • 2011 HSV GTS (FM6 / C-491)
  • 2069 Chryslus Rocket 69 (FM6 / S-758)

Yes I admit it is a mixed bag when it comes to style and surface but it is a very nice and well thought out mixed bag to be sure.

And that’s it for me today – gotta get back to work!

Cheers mates!  Share your mixed bag why don’tcha?

Leave a Reply

